Press Release: LawWorks Annual Pro Bono Awards 2019

Outstanding achievement in legal pro bono was celebrated on 3rd December at the LawWorks Annual Pro Bono Awards and Lecture.

The Awards recognised and celebrated the pro bono commitment of LawWorks members, their charity and corporate partners, and the work of independent clinics in the LawWorks Clinics Network. 

Lady Hale, President of the Supreme Court, spoke at the event and presented the awards to the winners. The evening was hosted by Matthew Stadlen, radio and television presenter, producer and writer.

Over 260 finalists and guests from across the pro bono, advice, legal aid and charity sectors, were welcomed by Simon Davis, President of the Law Society and Alasdair Douglas, Chair of LawWorks. James Harper, Executive Sponsor, Rule of Law and CSR at LexisNexis UK, spoke on behalf of the award sponsor.

LawWorks Chief Executive Martin Barnes said:

"Congratulations to the winners and finalists – all deserve recognition and celebration of their work and the difference they make in enabling access justice. It was also inspiring to hear from Lady Hale who has been a role model for the legal profession and everything that we value about the rule of law’."

James Harper, Executive Sponsor, Rule of Law and CSR for LexisNexis UK & Ireland said:

“On behalf of LexisNexis I would like to congratulate the winners, and all those shortlisted and nominated, for their dedication and commitment to enabling access to justice and advancing the Rule of Law. LexisNexis is honoured to have had the chance to express our support for all involved, and to continue our sponsorship of the LawWorks Pro Bono Awards for another year.’”

Yasmin Batliwala, Chief Executive, A4ID said:

“As the first-ever recipients of the Best International Pro Bono Award, I congratulate Dechert for their exceptional work and well-deserved recognition. Congratulations are also due to all of the nominees for this award, your invaluable international pro bono assistance is an inspiration to all of us in the pro bono sector – keep up the brilliant work!”

The winners of the Awards are:

  • Best contribution by a small firm: Emma Williams Family Law.
  • Best Contribution by a Medium Firm: Morrison & Foerster.
  • Best Contribution by a Large Firm: Howard Kennedy.
  • Best contribution by an in-house team: Visa.
  • Best contribution by an individual: Andrew Lidbetter – Herbert Smith Freehills.
  • Junior Lawyers Division Pro Bono Award: Imene Hamdi-Cherif – Ashurst.
  • LawWorks Cymru Award: University of South Wales Legal Advice Clinic
  • Best International Pro Bono Award: Dechert
  • Best contribution by a pro bono clinic: Cardiff Law School Pro Bono Clinic.
  • Best New Pro Bono Activity: BID Exceptional Case Funding Project with Bail for Immigration Detainees, Ashurst, Debevoise & Plimpton, Dechert and Orrick.
  • Most Effective Pro Bono Partnership: Mencap Legal Network Pro Bono Programme.

You can find out more about all the nominees and winners in the PDF icon LawWorks Pro Bono Awards programme 2019.

Notes to editors:

  1. LawWorks (the Solicitors Pro Bono Group) is a charity that promotes, supports and facilitates pro bono legal services that extend access to the law for individuals and communities in need and the organisations that support them. LawWorks operates as a membership organisation, helping volunteers from 150 law firms and legal teams across England & Wales to undertake pro bono work, and supporting a network of clinics. The pro bono work of each organisation makes a difference to their local community and collectively our members play an invaluable role in extending access to justice to those in need of advice across England & Wales. For further information about LawWorks visit: 
  2. The shortlist and winners were chosen by a judging panel that comprised, Yasmin Batliwala, Chief Executive, A4ID, Amy Clowrey, Chair of the Junior Lawyers Division; Andrea Coomber, Director, JUSTICE, Ruth Daniel, Chief Executive, Access to Justice Foundation, Simon Davis, President, the Law Society of England and Wales, Jeremy Miles AM, Counsel General for Wales and Brexit Minister, Chris Minnoch, Chief Executive, Legal Aid Practitioners Group, Paul Rogerson, Editor-in-chief, Law Society Gazette, Adam Tear, Chair of the Solicitors' Association of Higher Court Advocates, Linden Thomas, President, Birmingham Law Society
  3. The Awards sponsors, LexisNexis Legal & Professional are a leading global provider of content and technology solutions that enable professionals in legal, corporate, tax, government, academic and non-for -profit organisations to make informed decisions and achieve better business outcomes. As a digital pioneer, the company was the  first to bring legal and business information online. Today, LexisNexis Legal & Professional harnesses leading-edge technology and world-class content to help  professionals work in faster, easier and more effective ways. Through close collaboration with its customers, the company ensures organisations can leverage its solutions to reduce risk, improve productivity, increase profitability and grow their business. LexisNexis Legal & Professional, which serves customers in more than 175 countries with 10,000 employees worldwide, is part of RELX Group, a world-leading provider of information and analytics for professional and business customers across industries.
  4. A4ID is a global charity that works in partnership with the world’s leading law firms, providing access to the best legal advice for those engaged in the fight against global poverty, and contribute to the achievement of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). ​For the new “Best International Pro Bono Award” special attention will be given to pro bono projects that contribute to the achievement of the SDGs.

Press Contact: James Sandbach t: 0207 092 3943 / 07508327606 email [email protected]  

News features