LawWorks and Attorney General's Student Pro Bono Awards 2018

Nominations are now open for the LawWorks and Attorney General's Student Awards 2018.

The annual LawWorks and Attorney General Student Awards will be celebrated at an awards ceremony on Wednesday 25th April in the House of Commons.

Hosted by the Attorney General, the Rt Hon Jeremy Wright MP QC, the awards celebrate the best pro bono activities undertaken by law students and law schools.

The awards incorporate the Access to Justice Foundation award for an educational body or student which has made a significant contribution to promoting access to justice. The winners of the LawWorks and Bar Pro Bono Unit Law School Challenge 2017 – 2018 will also be presented with an award at the event.

The LawWorks and Attorney General Student Pro Bono Awards are kindly sponsored by Lexis Nexis. 

Nomination categories and how to nominate

We would like to hear about those people and projects that have made a real impact in the past year at your law school.  In response to the award categories listed below, please nominate any person or group that has, in your view, carried out fantastic pro bono work and made a valuable contribution.

The categories for the 2018 awards are:

  • Best Contribution by an Individual Student
  • Best Contribution by a Law School (Undergraduate and Postgraduate institutions)
  • Best Contribution by a Team of Students
  • Best New Pro Bono Activity 

Any law school or individual can nominate itself or others for one or more of the categories listed. If you would like to nominate for more than one category, please complete a separate form for each nomination.


The deadline for submission of nominations is midnight on Monday 19th March 2018.

Please note that we can not accept late entries.

Judging and the awards event

All of the short-listed nominees will be invited to attend the Awards ceremony at the House of Commons on 25 April 2018, 4.00pm – 6.00pm (due to capacity at the venue, there may be a limit on the total number able to attend on behalf of any nominated law school or team).

We are delighted that the Attorney General, The Rt Hon Jeremy Wright QC MP, will be presenting the Awards and that the ceremony will be hosted by His Honour Sir Robin Knowles CBE.

The judges for the 2018 Awards are:

  • Christina Blacklaws, Vice-president of the Law Society
  • Josh Richman, Senior editor, LawCareers.Net
  • Tom Laidlaw, Head of Academic and Public Sector Marketing, LexisNexis
  • Alison Padfield, Co-Chair of the Bar Council Pro Bono Panel

Need to get in touch?

If you have a question about the awards, please contact:

We look forward to receiving your nominations!

The LawWorks and Attorney General's Student Pro Bono Awards are sponsored by: