LawWorks and Attorney General Student Pro Bono Awards 2019

The annual LawWorks and Attorney General Student Awards will be celebrated at an awards ceremony on Wednesday 1st May in the House of Commons. Supported by the Attorney General, the Rt Hon Geoffrey Cox MP QC, the awards celebrate the best pro bono activities undertaken by law students and law schools.

The awards incorporate the Access to Justice Foundation award for an educational body or student which has made a significant contribution to promoting access to justice. The winners of the Advocate and LawWorks Law School Challenge 2018 – 2019 will also be presented with an award at the event.

To recognise the contribution that technology makes in improving access to justice and the delivery of pro bono we have added a new category ‘Best LegalTech Contribution’ for the 2019 awards.

The LawWorks and Attorney General Student Pro Bono Awards are kindly sponsored by LexisNexis. 

Award categories

The categories for the 2019 awards are:

  • Best New Pro Bono Activity
  • Best LegalTech Contribution
  • Best Contribution by an Individual Student
  • Best Contribution by a Law School (Undergraduate and Postgraduate institutions)
  • Best Contribution by a Team of Students

NB nominations are now closed - we hope to contacted everyone shortlisted by 5th April.

Judging and the awards event

All of the short-listed nominees will be invited to attend the Awards ceremony at the House of Commons on 1st May 2019, 4.00pm – 6.00pm (due to capacity at the venue, there may be a limit on the total number able to attend on behalf of any nominated law school or team).

We are delighted that the Attorney General, The Rt Hon Geoffrey Cox QC MP, will be presenting the Awards and that the ceremony will be hosted by His Honour Sir Robin Knowles CBE.

The judges for the 2019 Awards are:

  • Christina Blacklaws, President, Law Society
  • Peter Farr, Trustee, CILEx Pro Bono Trust
  • James Harper, Executive Sponsor, Rule of Law and CSR for LexisNexis UK & Ireland
  • Joshua Richman, Senior Editor, LawCareers.Net
  • Leanne Targett-Parker, Chair, Bar Council Pro Bono Committee

Need to get in touch?

If you have a question about the awards, please contact:

Peter Jackson, Communications Officer, 020 7092 3952

James Sandbach, Director of Policy and External Affairs, 020 7092 3943

We look forward to receiving your nominations!

The LawWorks and Attorney General's Student Pro Bono Awards are sponsored by: